nicas | level 3

National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme

The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme (NICAS) is a UK wide scheme designed to promote climbing development and accredit individual achievement on artificial climbing structures.

It can be used as a starting point for people wishing to take up climbing and mountaineering. It is open to young climbers aged 8 and upwards.

This level concentrates on climbing technique and movement with some additional knowledge of equipment.

Bouldering is a key component of this level and a suitable venue that provides a wide range of bouldering challenges is essential to deliver both training and assessment.

Completion of this level corresponds with a good pass at GCSE PE (indoor Climbing).

Minimum hours of coaching: 16

Expected additional minimum time commitment by candidate in hours: 12 (minimum total: 28)

There are 8 sessions and an assessment at the end to obtain the NICAS Level 3 certificate.

The duration for each session is 1.5 hours

The cost for a space on any of the 8 week courses is AED1,400

NICAS books are required for this course and these are purchased at reception, the Level 1, 2 & 3  log book is AED50.

All equipment is provided.

Level 3: Technical climber


At Level 3, young climbers will learn:


  • Knowledge of different harness types, helmets, rock shoes and belay devices – including the ability to evaluate their condition and ensure appropriate care and maintenance.

  • Knots – figure of eight on the bight, clove hitch, overhand.

  • Belaying using a variety of devices and choice of appropriate device.

  • Knowledge of a wide range of appropriate climbing techniques

  • Principles of good climbing movement

  • The structure of a climbing session – warming up exercises, stretching, gentle climbing, peaking, warming down, rest

  • Climbing websites, literature, magazines and films

  • White Facebook Icon
  • White Instagram Icon