nicas | Intermediate


National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme

The National Indoor Climbing Award Scheme (NICAS) is a UK wide scheme designed to promote climbing development and accredit individual achievement on artificial climbing structures.

It can be used as a starting point for people wishing to take up climbing and mountaineering. It is open to young climbers aged 7 and upwards.


Intermediate or NICAS Level 2 builds on the Level 1 skills and this level is a key stage in a climber’s development.

It is designed to correspond to most climbing centres’ membership standards. A Level 2 holder should be a potentially independent top rope climber.

Level 2 have mastered the basics of climbing on an artificial climbing structure and should be able to climb and boulder safely and, if appropriate, independently.

NICAS logbook are required for this course and are included in the Young Climbers membership.

Students must bring their own climbing shoes and harness


Level 2: Top Rope Climber

At Level 2, young climbers will learn:

  • Connecting self and others to rope with a retied figure of eight knot and stopper knot

  • Pre-climb checks

  • Belaying and lowering using a suitable belay device

  • Ground anchor systems

  • Holding a fall in a bottom rope situation (belayer on ground with rope passing through top anchor)

  • Effective communication and teamwork with climbing partner

  • Knowledge of indoor climbing (French sport) and bouldering grades

  • Selection of appropriate routes

  • Effective safe use of a bouldering/ traversing wall (if applicable)

  • Simple climbing technique – the use of feet and legs, relaxed upright stance, confident approach, smooth movement and observation of holds.